Admitting it is the hardest part…

I never thought of myself as a control freak before…however I realized today that, that is EXACTLY what I am.  I picture things in my head a certain way and when things don’t go the way I want them to I get very upset.  It brings out a whole side of me that I am not proud of.  I need to relinquish control on the things I can’t possibly change and learn to be happy with what I’m given.  I have no right to push my “fantasy world” of what should happen on other people.  It’s funny…I often talk about how mad it makes me when other people try to push their religion or some other belief on me, but that’s the exact same thing that I’m doing.  Snapping, pouting, etc. when things don’t go the way I wish is completely unfair to my family and friends. I have to say it really bothers me how long it’s taken me to realize this about myself.  I like to think of myself as a caring and unselfish person, but this is about as selfish as they come.  30 is supposed to be about me making changes and bettering myself.  Well I know what’s just moved to the top of my “to change” list.

~ by lisa pollard on July 14, 2009.

One Response to “Admitting it is the hardest part…”

  1. I think this blog is fabulous…keep it up. What a great way to share your thoughts!!! You’re first step should be changing the subtitle to “random musings from a SOMEBODY”

Leave a Reply

 
