Lesson Learned

I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting lately and realized that there are so many things I’d like to go back and change about my life.  Possibly the biggest thing being, not going away to school.  For a large part of my life I looked forward to going away to school.  My dream would have been to go to the University of Michigan, but because I decided to not apply myself during high school, there is no way I wold have been accepted.  So my dream was altered a bit and I decided on Eastern Michigan.  Then came May of my Junior year…I went with my good friend, her mom and sister to her mom’s best friend’s house.  That fateful day, I was sitting on the couch and in walked my husband-to- be.  I don’t want to go into too many boring details, but we overcame some pretty big obstacles and fell in love.  Because I was so in love I decided that there was no way I was going to leave my boyfriend and go away to school.  I settled on Macomb Community College, then later Baker College, instead and lived at home until the day I got married.  I never got to experience what it was like on my own.  Something that I’m pretty sure I’m going to regret until the day I die.  Growing up in an extremely over protective family and then moving directly in with my husband, never allowed me to learn how to depend on myself.  It makes me wonder if I’d be more independent and more confident if I had been able to experience what it was like to have noone but myself to rely on.  You know what they say though – “hindsight is 20/20”.  It’s so easy to look back now and realize that if my husband and I were meant to be we would have survived me going away to college.  It’s not like I was going to be in another state…there would have been plenty of time to visit each other.  However, if there is one good thing about this experience I’ve learned a lesson I can pass onto my daughter.  I’ll be damned if I’ll stand by and let her let go of her dreams because she’s in love.  If that love is true it’ll be there whether she follows her dreams or not.

~ by lisa pollard on August 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
