My Latest Pet Peeve

I have many pet peeves like fake people, side-by-siders in a public bathroom (if possible leave an empty stall between us people!), food on my plate touching, etc.  However, I have a more recent pet peeve that has shot to the top of the list – gas stations that charge a separate price for gas, depending on whether you pay with cash or credit.

Having owned a carpet cleaning business for almost 7 years now, I am well aware of the reason gas stations are doing this.  For those of you who don’t know…a business has to pay a small fee for every credit card purchase that is made.  I get that this is crappy and for this reason we chose not to offer credit as a payment option with our company.  Luckily we rarely ever get asked if we take credit so it’s really not an issue.  Unfortunately, gas stations don’t have this same luxury.  Despite this, it still irks me to no end that the gas stations are now passing this fee onto the consumer.  You don’t see grocery stores, department stores, restaurants, etc. doing this…just gas stations.  If they do they aren’t blatantly obvious about it at least.

So my question to gas station owners is what makes you so damn special?  While most companies are struggling due to the recession, the oil companies are booming with profits.  It’s disgusting.  They didn’t do this when gas was 99 cents a gallon, but they’re going to do it when it is upwards of $2.50 per gallon?  How the hell does that make sense?

This new practice bothers me so much that I will purposely pass up every gas station that does this.  Luckily I have a thing in my car that tells me how many gallons till empty.  I’ve gotten as close to 2 before finding a gas station that wasn’t trying to rip me off.

To top it off where these types of gas stations used to be the minority…it now appears it has become the majority.  I fear it won’t be long before I don’t have a choice and that really pisses me off.

~ by lisa pollard on August 18, 2009.

One Response to “My Latest Pet Peeve”

  1. I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

Leave a Reply

 
