If you don’t know who Glen Phillips is…you should

One of my top five favorite artists/groups is Glen Phillips.  Chances are you probably haven’t heard of him, but you probably have heard of Toad the Wet Sprocket.  Glen was the lead singer of that band.  He’s now mostly a solo artist, but will still occasionally tour with Toad and is also a part of a new band called Works Progress Administration (WPA).  If you want to find out more about Glen you can go to his website here.

Back in December I had the pleasure of seeing Glen perform at The Ark in Ann Arbor, MI. Opening for him was a solo artist by the name of Jonathan Kingham (stay tuned for a artist rave about him soon). It was a small venue and probably the best concert I’ve ever been to. His stories between songs were amusing and interesting and he sounded amazing live. After the show he was kind enough to meet with the fans and sign autographs. I was lucky enough to get an autograph and a picture. 🙂

I’m grateful to my friend that introduced me to this talented artist. Since finding out about him a year ago I’ve managed to get my hands on all of his solo work and I can honestly say there are maybe 2 out of 100 songs that I’m not that fond of. That’s how good his music is. Some of my favorite songs by him are Everything But You (one of my all time favorite songs ever), Easier, Men Just Leave, Maya, My Own Town and The Next Day.  Let me tell  you that is literally just scratching the surface of his unbelievable music.

Below you will find the video for Everything But You.  Please don’t judge the song by its uber strange video.  LOL If for some reason the embeded video doesn’t work, you can follow this link. I hope you enjoy the song as much as I do!

~ by lisa pollard on August 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
