Moving On

Today is my last day at a company I have, essentially, worked for, for almost 8 years.  I say essentially because I was laid off last December and came back as a Temp this past March.  This company marks my entire professional career, so walking into a new job tomorrow, in a completely new city is going to be very strange.

It’s funny, when I first started with this company I imagined moving through the ranks and retiring from here.  That’s how much I loved it the first few years I worked here.  Then a dose of reality set in.  Things started to change when we got bought out by a new company and I realized I might not be here for the long haul.  I wasn’t as happy as I used to be and felt that I wasn’t really being given a chance to grow, in my current department.  Then I got lucky.  A good friend of mine had taken a job in IT and loved it there.  When I got back from maternity leave she told me about an opening that interested me greatly.  I was given a chance and spent the best 1 1/2 years at the company.   I was devastated when I got laid off.

The 3 months I was laid off were some of the hardest of my life.  I felt like a failure.  I had finally gotten into the field I wanted to be in career-wise and it was gone “just like that”.  However, even hard was walking in that building again as a temp who was going to be doing the exact same work I had done when I started with the company.  Don’t get me wrong, I was grateful to have the work, but I can’t say my pride didn’t take a huge hit.

Unable to get hired in permanently with the company over the past 6 months I recently took a year-long contract position with an amazing company.  The new company has the option to hire me so cross your fingers!  This new opportunity is back in IT which is really exciting and it’s in an area that is completely new to me.  It’s an awesome opportunity that I am really, really lucky to have.  So don’t get me wrong, I’m excited, but I’m also very nervous too.  I know that this is the best choice for me, but change can be scary no matter how good it is for you.  However, scary or not I know that it is definitely time for me to move on.  This is the best choice for me and my family and I am extremely lucky that it came along.

 

~ by lisa pollard on December 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
