Remembering 9-11

“Time is passing. Yet, for the United States of America, there will be no forgetting September the 11th. We will remember every rescuer who died in honor. We will remember every family that lives in grief. We will remember the fire and ash, the last phone calls, the funerals of the children. ” by President George W. Bush

I think it’s safe to say that at the very least 90% of American’s can relate to the above statement.  I certainly know it is for me.  I will never forget where I was and the horror I felt when I found out that terrorists had attacked the United States.  Like many people, before this happened, I was naive enough to believe this could never happen to our country.  To realize we were vulnerable to this type of attack was a huge reality check.

Over the next week or two I watched in shock, horror, and most of sadness, all of the death and destruction that was caused by the like of one Osama Bin Laden and his terrorist group al-Qaeda.  I still to this day can’t wrap my head around hating a race and/or country so much that I’d be willing to kill myself in order to kill many of them or even help orchestrate an attack like 9-11.  The fact that people can justify this in the name of their “God” is just way to far out of my realm of understanding.  If God is as hateful and spiteful as they make him sound…I’m not so sure I want to go to Heaven.

Over the past 9+ years, I’ve had the honor of visiting where the World Trade Center’s used to be and visiting the Church were many recovered, rested, and even died.  To say this was a powerful and overwhelming experience does not even begin to do it justice.  I also remember a tour guide sharing the story of his sister-in-law, who worked at the World Trade Center, with us.  It was a powerful and moving story, so I like to take a moment and share it with you now:

Apparently the company where his SIL worked was towards the top of one of the towers.  In the months before 9-11, there were a group of 4 women who all got pregnant and were due around the same time.  Of course, because of the circumstances, they bonded and became very close over the next 6-8 months.  Well on the day of 9-11 there was a planned joint baby shower for all four of the women.  His SIL was heading into work late, because she had an appointment with her OB that morning, when the where her company was, was hit.  In fact the plane hit the floor of her company.  All 3 of the other women and their babies were lost, along with all of her co-workers who were there that day.  If she wasn’t going in late because of her OB appointment, she would’ve been there too.

Can you imagine the relief and survivor’s guilt that must have caused that poor woman?  How about the 3 other husbands who lost their wives and never got to meet their newborn babies?  Not to mention the rest of the people who were effected by the loss of so many that day.  I can’t even begin to imagine the pain they went/are going through.

So it was with great pleasure that I watched the president announce last night, that Osama Bin Laden was shot and killed by the hands of some in the US Special Forces.  The shock I felt when I heard this is unexplainable.  I think I had started to feel that it would never happen…that we would never find and kill that SOB.  I’m ecstatic to say that I was wrong.  Now I know there are still plenty of terrorists out there (al-Qaeda included) that want our country destroyed, but it still feels good to know that the man who order and rejoiced in the 9-11 attacks is dead.  I hope he felt as sacred, if not even more scared, than all of the brave men and women who died on that day and who have given their lives to the cause since.  Most of all I hope that, that bastard rots in hell for what he did to so many innocent people.

To end this post on a little lighter note and because this fits in with my twisted sense of humor…I’m proud to say that “present” can now be changed to “2011”. 🙂

~ by lisa pollard on May 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
