The MUST HAVE Book for Every Parent

Disclaimer: If you are offended by the swearing, you might not want to read any further.  Just a warning as I don’t want to upset any of my readers!

Ever wish that you had a book that puts into words the frustration you feel when your kid(s) won’t go to bed? Well wish no longer! A friend of mine (thanks Wendy 🙂 ) just posted a link on facebook to, quite possibly, the most honest and funniest kids book ever written. The book is called “Go the Fuck to Sleep”…yes, you read that right.  LOL  Am I the only one who just had to read the title to know that I’d be able to relate? 

“Go the Fuck to Sleep”, written by Adam Mansbach, has just become the gift I’m going to buy every new parent.  They might not get it at first, but they will…oh they will. LOL  Heck I just had one of these nights on Sunday with my 4 year old daughter.  It took me 1 1/2 hours to get her to fall asleep!!!  I could have definitely used this book then!

Below is a blurb about “Go the Fuck to Sleep” that I found on Amazon:

Go the Fuck to Sleep is a bedtime book for parents who live in the real world, where a few snoozing kitties and cutesy rhymes don’t always send a toddler sailing blissfully off to dreamland. Profane, affectionate, and radically honest, California Book Award-winning author Adam Mansbach’s verses perfectly capture the familiar–and unspoken–tribulations of putting your little angel down for the night. In the process, they open up a conversation about parenting, granting us permission to admit our frustrations, and laugh at their absurdity.

With illustrations by Ricardo Cortes, Go the Fuck to Sleep is beautiful, subversive, and pants-wettingly funny–a book for parents new, old, and expectant. You probably should not read it to your children.

If you’re still not convinced about how awesome “Go the Fuck to Sleep” is, here is a verse from the book:

The cats nestle close to their kittens now.
The lambs have laid down with the sheep.
You’re cozy and warm in your bed, my dear
Please go the fuck to sleep.

 Yeah, I’m definitely pre-ordering a copy.  I may not read it to the kid, but at least I’ll have something to amuse myself on those nights I’m sitting next to her bed for “2 minutes” for the 80th time, willing her to fall asleep.  LOL

~ by lisa pollard on May 24, 2011.

5 Responses to “The MUST HAVE Book for Every Parent”

  1. Hahahah this is great! I’ll have to pre-order a copy too!

  2. OMG this is so hilarious! I want to get the book now! I have a 5 year old and a 10 year old and can totally relate. There should be a book for parents of tweens too, but this might fit just right either way. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Laura that is soooo true! Can imagine the books us parents could come up with? We could start a line of humorous books for parents! LOL

  4. Following you via Networked Blogs from the social mom site. Come visit me back please.

    Sounds like an awesome book & I totally agree about the things us parents could come up with. LOL.

    Cheers-
    Mikey
    mikey-thesinglemom.blogspot.com

  5. Hi Mikey,

    Thanks for stopping by and following! I just checked out your blog and am now following you too! 🙂

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
