30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 8 – Short term goals for this month and why

 I know the picture to the left are of my goals for the year, but I thought I’d share them anyway.  Especially since my short-term and my long-term goals always have “No, absolutely, no running around naked”.   It is something that I constantly have to remind myself…because if I didn’t, I’d be running around naked scaring the world on a daily basis.  I just can’t help myself.  😉

In all seriousness, monthly goals are not something I often think about or map out for myself.  In light of this I really had to sit down and think about this one.  I know I always have things in mind that I’d like to get done within a certain timeframe, but I never really thought about them as goals…even though I guess they are.

I think my biggest goal for the month of June is to finish unpacking from the move.  We have about 2/3rds of it done, but we still have a lot to go.  I’d like to eventually find my new living room at some point this month.  LOL  Also, my main goal while doing this is to purge as much crap as I can and to put things away in an organized fashion.  The other day my hubby just suggested we started throwing stuff wherever to get it unpacked and I yelled at him.  I told him there was no way in hell that was going to happen because I am not going to have an unorganized and clutter house, like the old one.  With our basement we have 2 1/2 times more room now for stuff…I’ll be damned if we are going to use all of it.  LOL  I’m determined that more room does not equal more stuff and I will take down anyone who tries to jam the house full of crap.  🙂

Another goal I have for this month is to continue blogging almost daily (only giving myself a break on the weekends, if that).  I’m trying very hard to grow my blog and I know this is the best way to do that.    Since I started actively blogging about mid-April, I’ve noticed a huge jump in the amount of readers that visit me daily.  In fact, I’ve almost surpassed my total views from May and I’m only 13 days into June!  I’m very proud of this and plan on continuing to work hard.  Not only do I want to gain readers, but I also want to write about things that people will enjoy or even find helpful.  I am grateful to each and every person who have taken the time to read my blog…we all have busy schedules, so it is a real honor when someone takes time out of their day to read my posts!  In light of this, I want them to feel that they are reading something worthwhile and that they haven’t just wasted their time.

Last but not least I’m trying to get everything planned and gathered for a Natural Childbirth series that I plan on writing for the blog.  I’m going to be including a few guest writers in this so I want to have everything ready to go so I can start posting the first week of July.

That’s pretty much it.  Nothing too deep!  LOL  Do any of you have any short-term goals you’d like to share?

~ by lisa pollard on June 13, 2011.

6 Responses to “30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 8 – Short term goals for this month and why”

  1. I love that you are organizing your house as you go. I sometimes look at mine and think to myself, “Let’s sell this house as is, they can take everything! and let’s just start over!”

    That is great that you are so dedicated to building your blog. It’s very flattering to have people reading you every day and commenting!

    Just my personal opinion for you to think about: I am turned off by the whole blog challenges so I usually don’t go read those posts. I may be missing out, I don’t know. I do know that I am glad I came to read yours because I thoroughly enjoyed it and it gave me something to think about. What if you put the title first, (Short Term Goals, Day 8 of my 30 Day Challenge.) I have no idea if anybody else thinks like me and after reading yours, I’m afraid I’ve been off track, but just saying…

    Be back soon!

    • Melanie,

      I’m so glad you took the time to read my post! I never thought that someone would be turned off by a blog challenge post, but I appreciate your honesty! From my perspective it was something fun to do and a great way for my readers to get to know me better. However, I do like the way you switched around the title…maybe I should give that a try and put it up to a vote at the end of my next challenge post?

      As for organizing and decluttering my house…I honestly think the only way for me to do this is to move! LOL I’ve tried to do it many times at the old house and was only able to part with a tiny fraction of my stuff. I’m finding it much easier to part with it during the move, because I’m enjoying the minimalistic look AND I find that the stuff that I don’t miss when it’s been packed away for awhile, I obviously never needed it to begin with. Maybe you could go room by room and give that a try? Pack all your non-essentials into boxes, put them in the garage or basement for a month or two and see what you miss and what you don’t. Who knows? It might work! LOL Good luck!

      Lisa

  2. I’m pretty sure each time I moved, I threw away 1/3 of my stuff – but always managed to accumulate it again lol. Definitely do not just start unpacking wherever! Keep to your plan! When we bought our home, we moved in 5 days before I had a total hysterectomy. I did NOT get the unpacking finished before the surgery. I’m pretty sure it took me two full years to clean up the mess my dh and kids made doing the unpacking for me while I recovered. Not recommended!

    I’m from voiceBoks and very glad to meet you. I’m really enjoying your blog!

    • Christina,

      Thanks for stopping by and your kind words!

      Not to worry, I will not let my hubby start unpacking and throwing stuff in random spots. I refuse to live like we used to. We had no room and it was impossible to keep the house looking clean. It drove me insane!

      Lisa

  3. Kudos to you for organizing your stuff. My method of organization involves a lot of stuffing under things, into things and above things. Then, when I really need something and I can’t find it, I wonder why.

    Also, totally need to add not running around naked to my long term and short term lists. The public would greatly appreciate it.

    • That was always my way of organizing in our old house. However, it got so bad it never felt like the house was clean, even when it was. It slowly started to drive me nuts. You know what they say “the cleanliness of your house, room, desk, etc reflects your state of mind”…this was definitely true in my case. LOL Now the theme of my new house is “peaceful”…I’m determined to make it that way!

      BTW, it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who has problems with “running around naked”! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
