How you found out about WordPress and why you made one – Day 12 of my 30 Day Blog Challenge

If you’re paying close attention to my blog challenge posts you’ll notice that I’ve skipped Day 11.  This is because I’m writing a guest post for another blog that will cover day 11.  When I’m done and it’s posted I will tie in day 11 with my post asking you to check out my guest post (does that makes sense? lol).

Anyways, the question was how I found out about Blogger, but since I don’t use Blogger I changed it to WordPress.  LOL 

I found out about WordPress through a good friend of mine.  He was starting up a blog on here and encouraged me to do so as well.  So I thought about it a bit and decided to do it.  It took me several days to come up with a name and tagline, because I’m severely lacking in the creativity department.  LOL  Then I picked my background and was up and running.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t ready for blogging when I did this.  From 2009 until about mid-April 2011 I probably wrote 10 posts total.  I felt self conscious and exposed…plus I didn’t feel like I had anything to say. 

Then recently something just changed.  I have no clue why but I suddenly had a lot to say and really wanted to share it.  I have a ton of topics I still want to write about (I have an ongoing list that I keep, so I don’t forget the ideas as they come to me lol) and I can’t wait.  It’s been awhile since I could say this, but I’m loving writing again.  I’m not a great writer…my friend who encouraged me to blog is a million times more talented that I am, but I don’t care anymore.  I am who I am.  Writing has become incredibly therapeutic for me and I am now meeting all kinds of exciting new people. 

I am extremely grateful to those of you who take the time to read my posts and sometimes even comment on them. 🙂 Please stay tuned because I have a lot more in store for all of you…  I’m not going anywhere anytime soon! 🙂

~ by lisa pollard on June 16, 2011.

15 Responses to “How you found out about WordPress and why you made one – Day 12 of my 30 Day Blog Challenge”

  1. First, huge props to you for figuring out WordPress. I am still on Blogger and WordPress just baffles me. Probably because I only have two brain cells.

    I totally feel you on the “feeling exposed” part of blogging. When I started last September, I felt nervous and anxious. Can I swear on my own blog? How much can I reveal without feeling naked? I still don’t know the answers to these questions and I really hate that I’m not a very good writer, but I love blogging.

    • LOL…being able to figure out WordPress might have something to do with the fact that I have a Computer Science degree. So don’t feel too bad. 😉

      I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who felt exposed (and still kind of do)! However, don’t you dare say you are not a good writer! Your writing is great and you’re are insanely funny to top it off. I have your blog posts emailed to me to make sure I don’ t miss any!!! LOL

  2. New follower form the Thirsty Thursday blog hop! Great blog. Check mine out if you get a chance.
    http://www.thenotsospecialmother.com

  3. I would love to hear your tips and trials using and setting up a blog in WordPress!

  4. How about this? Share your questions with me and if I can answer them I’ll write a post to help you out. I’d rather know what you’re having troubles with so I’m focusing on the right things! 🙂

  5. great blog! Visiting from VoiceBoks! Your newest follower on facebook and twitter! Would love it if you would check out my blog and follow too! Thanks!
    -Nikki
    http://chef-n-training.blogspot.com/

    • Hi Nikki,

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ve already been to your blog this morning and am now following! 🙂

      Lisa

  6. Blogging is a wild wonderful self conscience thing to do. Following from Voiceboks.

    • It truly is! I think it’s helped me to learn more about myself, which is definitely a good thing!

  7. I use Blogger, but my son uses WP. Glad there’s something for everyone…
    Hope you have a lovely weekend!
    Visiting from voiceBoks
    Thanks, Becky Jane
    http://riseaboveyourlimits.blogspot.com/

  8. Isn’t that like anything, we don’t know what we’re capable of until we’re given the platform to perform.

    • So true! I think we often underestimate ourselves…at least I know, I do! I’m always shocked at what I can accomplish! 🙂

  9. I always wonder why, but I’ve found out that many of us (bloggers) started out the same way, with the same feeling and later discovering the hidden potential in us. Visiting from voiceBoks.

    • I think it’s the wonderful support of the blogging community. People start responding and seem genuinely interested in what you have to say. It definitely helps with the confidence! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
