Things I Learned About Myself While Moving

Having recently moved from one home to another I have realized a few things about myself:

1. I suck at figuring out where to put stuff.  I don’t know what my deal is, but when I start to unpack a box I stare at it’s contents trying to figure out what the heck to do with it.  Granted there are some things that go in obvious places (ie clothes in the closet, coats in the coat closet, etc.), but the rest of it always seems to leave me dumbfounded.  Should my contact supplies go in the ginormous bathroom cabinet or in the linen closet?  Should the cups go in the cupboard on the left or the right?  Then once I make my decision 1/2 the time I realize it’s not going to work and I change everything around.  LOL  I think my problem is, is that I’m trying to be uber organized like my mom and grandmother and I’m just not.  I think what I need to do is quit trying to do things how they would and just do what works for me.  LOL

2. I own WAY too many yummy smelling lotions, body sprays, etc.  I obviously have quite an addiction and didn’t realize it.  I guess that’s what happens when you put everything that was scattered around your old house into one place in your new house.  FYI…the picture below isn’t even everything.  At least I know if I’m ever trapped in my house for an extended period of time my skin won’t get dry and I’ll smell nice! LOL

3. We own all kinds of crap that we don’t need.  I gave 3 big black garbage bags of clothes to charity and my closet is still jammed full of clothes.  Not to mention other things that we’ve held on to for years and never use (ie pre-smartphone cell phones, a box to a dvd player that we got rid of 2 years ago, VHS tapes for cheesy movies we will never watch…especially since we no longer own a VCR).  It is pure insanity the amount of stuff I have given away or thrown away and we still aren’t done unpacking yet.  I am determined to no let us fill our new house to the brim with crap we don’t need.  LOL  However, I am relieved to say that my house was never as bad as the one in the picture below. 🙂

4. I HATE my old house.  I thought I was going to be sad to leave there because of all the memories.  It’s the house the hubby and I went home to on our wedding night, it’s the home we raised our daughter in the first 4 years of her life…there is even a mural on the wall that the hubby painted for her, with her name on it.  Boy was I wrong!!!  This new house has brought me such a sense of peace, despite all of the problems we’ve had with it.  First of all it’s in an awesome neighborhood and it’s the exact area we wanted to be in when we started looking.  Second of all the home is much larger AND has a basement.  Our last house was 750 sqft smaller and didn’t have a basement.  Needless to say, things were “tight”.  We haven’t sold the old house yet, so when I have to go back there to pick up mail I actually get angry.  LOL  It makes me so mad to even be near that place.  I think it’s because we put tens of thousands of dollars into the home and it is worth at least less than $65,000 than the buying price…not including the money we put into the home to fix it up.  So basically we’re easily taking a $80,000 to $90,000 hit on the home.  So yeah, I guess it makes sense that I’d love to just blow the place up (good thing I’m an upstanding citizen who would NEVER do that).  LOL

 
This post was written for the Ultimate Blog Challenge.

~ by lisa pollard on July 1, 2011.

12 Responses to “Things I Learned About Myself While Moving”

  1. Love your blog and I can definitely relate to #2. My bathroom looks like a cross between Sephora and Bath & Body. Where did all that stuff come from?

    • Thanks Glenneth! Yeah mine is mostly Bath & Body and Avon Intensive lotion. Right before Bath & Body stopped selling my favorite scent, Pearberry, I bought as much as I possibly could and have used it sparingly since. LOL Though, only a few things in the picture are Pearberry. Sad huh? LOL

  2. While home values have declined, rents have not. You can get a positive cash flow going if you rent to own and you can name your price.

    • Sadly, we thought of that had to discard the idea. The area we used to live in has declined so much that there is no way we could get anyone to pay what we owe on our house in a “rent to own” scenario. They’d be stupid to when the house is now worth about $30,000. We also thought of just flat out renting out the house, but we’d be at least 200-300 below our house payment, which would be too hard for us. To be honest, we would still be living there if we didn’t have a daughter. When there was a shooting on the end of the street last August I told my hubby that I didn’t care what we had to do, we were moving.

  3. Wow, I’m afraid I’m going to have a basket case when we move. Great points.
    http://homesandbabies.blogspot.com
    Becky from VB

    • Becky,

      Hang in there! It sucks, but if you’re moving to a better place it is sooo worth it in the long run! Plus, I’m looking at it as a fresh start. A way to purge all the crap we no longer need!

  4. Lisa,

    My husband and I have moved 13 times in the 17 years we have been married — and yes, you do learn a lot about yourself when you move.

    I had similar realizations that you did — too much stuff, not enough organization, trying to do things the way others do, etc. Moving frequently has helped to “purge” regularly and helps cut down on the clutter, but I still have my addictions as well.

    I’ve always admired folks who were really organized or who were very purposeful in their purchases, so they didn’t have a lot of “stuff.” Good reminder to try to think before we buy.

    • Cathy,

      Wow that is a lot of moving! I don’t know how you did/do it!!! I think I’d be pulling out my hair by the 3rd time! LOL

      I know what you mean about admiring those who are organized. My good friend is so insanely organized and I have no idea how she manages to do it. She was pregnant and had her bills paid further out so she didn’t have to worry about paying anything the first few weeks she got home from the hospital. You know, things like that. If only I could channel the organized part of her brain, I’d be all set!

  5. Great insight, Lisa . Thanks for making me “think”…

    We lived in our first (tiny) house 13 years – it was a house my grandmother originally lived in. Oh, the amount of stuff we had – hers and ours. Then my mom moved from her house and we got lots from her. I literally couldn’t throw anything way. Everything had a memory attached. My collecting changed when we decided to move to the USA.

    I learned how to give stuff away.

    I still have one area that I can’t conquer – it’s dishes/china. I’m a sucker for a beautiful platter or a unique shaped glass. Fortunately both my kids are grown, so now I can give stuff to them! (and fill up their houses!)

    • I know what you mean when it comes to items that carry memories. I’ve gotten better at not keeping things like this, but not as much as I’d like. I just have to keep telling myself over and over again that I don’t need the item in order to remember the wonderful memories! 🙂

  6. I just moved, too. And found out how much I have that I don’t need! I’m not great about figuring out where to put stuff either. Glad you like your new home!

    • It’s nice to hear that I’m not alone in my “figuring out where to put things” problem! I hope you’re enjoying your new home as much as I’m enjoying mine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
