Recipe: Rigatoni with Sungold Tomatoes, Arugula and Sweet Corn

As I stated in my previous post Blog Changes, I’m planning on posting recipes on this blog for purely selfish reasons.  LOL  Although hopefully, through my selfishness, you might find a recipe or two that you’d like to try.  Please remember that this is not a cooking blog and I have not read up on how to take proper pictures of food (I know there are certain techniques you should use).

The below recipe is one that I got from my mom.  There is a lot of color to it so it looks appetizing when you put it on the plate.  Also, if you like garlic this is the dish for you.  You should also know that this makes a lot of food.  So either make it for at least 4 people or be prepared for leftovers!

Rigatoni with Sungold Tomatoes, Arugula and Sweet Corn

Rigatoni with Sungold Tomatoes, Arugula and Sweet Corn

1 1/3lbs rigatoni (I used Mostaccioli)
¼ c. extra virgin olive oil
8 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
3 pints Sungold tomatoes, sliced in half (I just used grape tomatoes)
3 ears corn, sliced from the cob (I used a little more than half a bag of frozen corn thawed)
1 ½ t. chili flakes
salt and pepper
1 large bunch arugula, washed and destemmed
2 T. butter
4-6 oz. Dry Jack Cheese or Asiago (I used Asiago)

Drop pasta in salted boiling water and cook to al dente, about 4 minutes. Heat olive oil and garlic together. Cook garlic until slightly golden and a bit caramelized. Add tomatoes, corn, chili flakes and salt and pepper to pan. Cook for 1 minute. Drain pasta and add pasta to pan. Add a splash of cooking liquid to pan and swirl to emulsify. Add Arugula and butter and toss until fully incorporated. Check seasonings. Serve with cheese shaved over the top of each serving.

Hope you enjoy! 🙂

~ by lisa pollard on September 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “Recipe: Rigatoni with Sungold Tomatoes, Arugula and Sweet Corn”

  1. Looks really delish!!!

  2. That looks DELICIOUS – I already bookmarked it! My roommates and I are always looking for new recipes and we all agree that THIS is going to be the next thing we make next week! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Thanks Jacqui and Sarah! I hope all of you enjoy the recipe! I think I like it so much because it’s really unique. 🙂 Please come back and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment